Public preview
Adds support for deactivating configurations in Accounts v2 Public preview
What’s new
We added support for deactivating and reapplying configurations to Accounts v2, which allows you to specify how your user is represented in Stripe.
Impact
Previously, you were required to choose from:
- Unrequesting capabilities : This reversible action leaves unused configurations on an account, which can potentially cause unintended workflows.
- Closing accounts : This semi-permanent action required Stripe support to reopen the account.
With configuration deactivation, you can now:
- Deactivate a configuration when it’s no longer required in order to keep your Accounts v2 as an accurate representation of your user.
- Reapply configurations when they’re required again.
This can help you manage and reduce the number of unused configurations on your Accounts v2.
We also added a new applied field to each configuration’s response object, which denotes the configuration’s status. This status allows you to differentiate between active and deactivated configurations.
Changes
Upgrade
- View your current API version in Workbench.
- If you use an SDK, upgrade to the corresponding SDK version for this API version.
- If you don’t use an SDK, update your API requests to include Stripe-Version: 2025-08-27. preview
- Upgrade the API version used for webhook endpoints .
- Test your integration against the new version.
- If you use Connect, test your Connect integration .
Learn more about Stripe API upgrades.